Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Greetings from Wisconsin

Martin

I have always liked the T bucket, but thats as far as I ever got. The stars appear too be lining up in my favor right now though, so I think I will take the opportunity and start building one. I make my living doing custom woodworking (wood cars and boats) in a shop next to my house, so the body will be all wood. I like the looks of the turtledeck body, so mine will be something at least similar to that, but with doors. Before I can build the body though, I need a chassis. I figure I might as well build that too, so here I am. Havn't been doing much posting, but lots of reading.
Sorry about the avatar, not a T bucket but it is an old Ford, and I did build it.........Back to the books!

Welcome to the site Martin. You're going to like it here. Lots of knowledge and we all thrive on questions.

Hummmm....a '23 Sportsman,huh...sounds interesting. No need to appoligize for the avatar...Those are awesome cars.

Ron

Thanks for joining in the fun! I'm not too familiar with the Sportsman. Can you give some more details and....... as per the house rules... can ya post a few more pics?:rock:

Welcome! I think I would build the body to look like I wanted it to look and fit your body then build the frane to fit the body.

That's good advice ORF. When you're building a one off type of car, it's always advisable to build the body first. However, you also want to keep the frame in mind so you don't complicate it's design.

Ron

Martin said:
I have always liked the T... so the body will be all wood. I like the looks of the turtledeck body, so mine will be something at least similar to that, but with doors. Before I can build the body though, I need a chassis. I figure I might as well build that too, so here I am...

Welcome Martin...